Millions of senior Australians are set to benefit from stronger aged care quality standards, as the Morrison Government’s comprehensive aged care overhaul moves into top gear.


Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care, Ken Wyatt AM, said the passage of the Single Aged Care Quality Framework legislation through the Parliament would intensify quality compliance across residential, home and remote care, in the first upgrade of aged care standards in 20 years.


“These new single quality standards have a single focus – to protect the rights of senior Australians,” Minister Wyatt said. 


“Under the draft new regulations, aged care providers’ governing bodies and boards will be legally accountable for safety and quality.


“There will be mandatory clinical frameworks for each home including disease control, open disclosure, and minimising the use of restraint.


“The focus will be on client care, with providers having to prove their care and services are safe, effective and customer-centred.


“While the overwhelming majority of Australia’s 2700 aged care providers and 366,000 dedicated staff deliver exceptional care, the new standards are about ensuring there are no exceptions.”


The draft Aged Care Quality Standards consist of eight standards:


·         Client dignity and choice

·         Ongoing assessment and planning of client’ personal and clinical care

·         Services and supports for daily living

·         The provider’s service environment

·         Feedback and complaints

·         Human resources

·         Governance


Each of the eight draft standards includes:


·         A statement of outcome for the client

·         A statement of expectation for the organisation

·         Requirements to demonstrate that the standard has been met.


“This Bill is a critical part of the Government’s Aged care reforms, focusing on the best outcomes for senior Australians,” Minister Wyatt said.


“The standards will protect people by placing them at the centre of care in a competitive, market-based system where consumers drive quality and red tape is reduced for residents, families and providers.”


The legislation brings together the four previous sets of Aged Care standards into one.


“Combined with the new, independent Aged Care Safety and Quality Commission, which comes into force on 1 January, and the Aged Care Workforce Strategy, the single aged care standards herald a new era in certainty and confidence in Australian aged care,” Minister Wyatt said.


The Government has allocated $50 million to assist aged care providers to transition to the new standards.


Full implementation of the new aged care quality standards is due from 1 July 2019.


The new standards have been co-designed with the aged care sector over several years, with further public consultation to take place in coming months.


Further information about the standards is available here.


Media contact: Nick Way, Media Adviser 0419 835 449


Authorised by Ken Wyatt AM, MP, Member for Hasluck.