Hon Ken Wyatt AM MP, Federal Member for Hasluck held the 2018 Hasluck Leadership Awards presentation night recently at the Zig Zag Cultural Centre in Kalamunda. 

The candidates gathered along with parents, family, friends and teachers.  Ken Wyatt and judge - Senior Sergeant Simon Parke from Forrestfield Police Station presented certificates to all participants and announced the two winners.

Mr Wyatt congratulated all candidates and presented certificates to students - Connor Davies, Portia Harding (in absentia), Dalziel Inie, Zachary Matthews, Amy Myers, Michael Murray, Phoebe Thomasson and Elizabeth Zardins.

Congratulations to Phoebe Thomasson from St Brigid’s College and Zachary Matthews from Guildford Grammar School, the two very deserving winners of the 2018 Hasluck Leadership Award.

The Hasluck Leadership Award is a highly rewarding initiative, designed to encourage Year 11 high school students to excel in their academic and personal lives.  The Award was created to inspire and development leadership potential in young people.

Hon Ken Wyatt MP thanked all contestants for their participation and said the panel of judges were very impressed with the quality and competence of all candidates. 

“The judges had a very difficult task of choosing the winners from such a mature, professional and aware group of Year 11 students.” Mr Wyatt said.

Mr Wyatt also thanked the very dedicated and community driven panel of judges for their dedication to the youth of Hasluck and thanked Senior Sergeant Simon Parke – Forrestfield Police Station; Jordan Joseph – winner of 2015 Hasluck Leadership Award; Ms Kim Charles – CEO Business Station Inc.; Cr Claire Scanlon – City of Swan Midland-Guildford Ward; Ms Colleen Bitmead – Chairman Forrestfield & High Wycombe Community Bank branches and Ms Melanie Harper – Team Leader, Department of Human Services.

Mr Wyatt also said that “Of course this prestigious award would not be possible without the very generous and continued support of local business community members who are committed to the promotion of youth leadership within the Hasluck community.

“Thank you to Qantas Airways, BGC, Damien Cole Group, Forrestfield Hawaiian’s and Perth Airport for their continued support.”

“I believe it is essential that we support our young people.  The young leaders of today will become our future politicians, business-people, sports people and innovators.  As a community, we have a responsibility to assist students in developing these very necessary skills.” Mr Wyatt said.

“I look forward to Phoebe Thomasson and Zachary Matthews travelling with me to Canberra in September to experience life in our nation’s capital.”  Mr Wyatt said.