About Hasluck

Named after Sir Paul Hasluck 1905–93, Diplomat, Cabinet Minister and the first Western Australian born Governor-General of Australia and his wife Dame Alexandra Hasluck 1908–93, a noted author.

The electorate of Hasluck is over 1,100 sq km and covers the Shires of Mundaring and Kalamunda (part), and the Cities of Gosnells (part) and Swan (part). It includes the suburbs of Bailup, Beckenham, Beechina, Bellevue, Bickley, Boya, Caversham, Chidlow, Darlington, Forrestfield, Gidgegannup, Glen Forrest, Gooseberry Hill, Gorrie, Greenmount, Guildford, Hacketts Gully, Hazelmere, Helena Valley, Hovea, Jane Brook, Kalamunda, Kenwick, Koongamia, Lesmurdie, Maddington, Mahogany Creek, Maida Vale, Malmalling, Middle Swan, Midland, Midvale, Mt Helena, Mundaring, Parkerville, Paulls Valley, Piesse Brook, Red Hill, Reservoir, Sawyers Valley, South Guildford, Stoneville, Stratton, Swan View, The Lakes, Viveash, Walliston, Wattle Grove, Welshpool, Woodbridge and Wooroloo.

Industries within the electorate vary from retail to transport and service industries,  including light industry, medical, construction, manufacturing and agriculture.

The division was first proclaimed in 2001 and has been held by the Hon Sharryn Jackson (2001-2004 & 2007-2010), the Hon Stuart Henry (2004-2007) and the Hon Ken Wyatt (2010 – present).